Kevin Colyer's thoughts and ponderings

Semi-random rambles

Icon of Transfiguration

Leave a comment

Illuminated by eternity’s light
The fullness of the one that the universe could not contain
Revealed in radiant glory one time only
Not hidden away

A cup, tipped up and poured out
Divinity running away like water into dusty ground
Now lifted in this moment out of the shadows of the world
Blazing brilliant energy
True nature impossible to hide for long
Teach me, teacher
Centre me, central one
Irradiate me, brilliant sun

I am thrown down
Reeling, drunken and dazed
I know who you are
I’m overwhelmed by your beauty
I fear to leave my familiar tracks and trails

I look around me and everything has changed
The mountain flows, granite bends and lifts you up
The grunge of daily living bleached and infused with scorching energy
My heroes raised with you
They see you who was horizon far away, now handshake close
It was you all along they strove to see with a longing as deep as life
Yet they were yours all along, hidden in the dark hand, whispered to

Beacon of brilliant light, lasting a day, minute, hour or moment
Never seen, then seen, then gone
To be seen again, in this moment
And endless day to come
No more night

(with thanks to https://iconreader.wordpress.com/2011/08/06/transfiguration-icon-the-event-and-the-process/ for the wonderful image and a great article)

Author: kevincolyer

I was born somewhere in England. Kevin and Nicki were joined in wedded bliss in September 1994. I have four wonderful Children. I am a currently training to become a vicar who can start churches among people who are not really churchy. I desire to start lots of these culturally relevant churches all over. I am a strong supporter of Free/Libre Open Source Software. I have been known to enjoy high quality Belgian beer. I occasionally listen to Coldplay. I like trying to speak Dutch. I like to think I can speak French. I lived in Belgium for 10 wonderful years and still miss it.

Leave a Reply

