Kevin Colyer's thoughts and ponderings

Semi-random rambles

a time of nonsense

Leave a comment

I recently read a nice thin book (I prefer nice thin ones) called Time of Nonsense“And now let’s move into a time of nonsense. Why Songs are failing the Church” by Nick Page ISBN 1-85078-584-8.

It was funny and fascinating plea for those involved in song writing in churches to think sensibly and clearly about the lyrics of what they write! He pointed out that in the Victorian period of Evangelicalism there were HUNDREDS of THOUSANDS of hymns of which the best 200-400 remain today! His point is that writing lyrics for songs is very hard indeed and actually need not be by the writer of the music! He makes a strong critique of Worship leader as Singer/Songwriter, that draws directly from Pop culture and brings many of the weaknesses of that culture’s lyrics with it.

Some books are often negative and critical and Nick Page manages to avoid a heavy negativity in order to bring much needed constructive criticism! I found myself thinking “Aha! This is what I have been feeling deep down without being able to put a name to it!”.

He also suggests that we need not be afraid of using contemporary language to speak about God; and in fact on of my favourite songs just now “Indescribable” does just that (If we skip on the word “Majesty”!)

As I said I had been feeling deep down that all was not well in the state of Denmark and here are the two biggest targets worthy of Nick’s criticism. I should add I love the tunes very much for both these songs but the lyrics… Well see for yourself:

Kevin Prosch’s “Where is the Lord God of Elijah?”

Victory is the Lord’s
Victory is the Lord’s
We’ve just begun to fight
We’ve just begun to fight

And when I get discouraged
Having done all then I stand
He gave me weapons to fight and the spirit of might
I feel the power of the Word of the Lord

Where is the Lord, God of Elijah
Elohim my redeemer and my friend
Any weapon formed against me will not prosper
His eyes are a flame of fire

Can you work out what that refers to? And here is Robin Mark’s song “Days Of Elijah”.

These are the days of Elijah,
Declaring the word of the Lord:
And these are the days of Your servant Moses,
Righteousness being restored.
And though these are days of great trial,
Of famine and darkness and sword,
Still, we are the voice in the desert crying
‘Prepare ye the way of the Lord!’

Behold He comes riding on the clouds,
Shining like the sun at the trumpet call;
Lift your voice, it’s the year of jubilee,
And out of Zion’s hill salvation comes.

These are the days of Ezekiel,
The dry bones becoming as flesh;
And these are the days of Your servant David,
Rebuilding a temple of praise.
These are the days of the harvest,
The fields are as white in Your world,
And we are the labourers in Your vineyard,
Declaring the word of the Lord!
There’s no God like Jehovah.
There’s no God like Jehovah!

Can anybody make out from this what the song is all about???

Anyway so I am not needlessly critical I will try to write a Hymn as part of a quiet time one day soon!

Kevin

Author: kevincolyer

I was born somewhere in England. Kevin and Nicki were joined in wedded bliss in September 1994. I have four wonderful Children. I am a currently training to become a vicar who can start churches among people who are not really churchy. I desire to start lots of these culturally relevant churches all over. I am a strong supporter of Free/Libre Open Source Software. I have been known to enjoy high quality Belgian beer. I occasionally listen to Coldplay. I like trying to speak Dutch. I like to think I can speak French. I lived in Belgium for 10 wonderful years and still miss it.

Leave a Reply

