Kevin Colyer's thoughts and ponderings

Semi-random rambles

16th Birthday

Leave a comment

Sixteen  years ago Linus Tovalds wrote this little email as he launched a little project he had spent most of the summer  working on…

 From: torvalds@klaava.Helsinki.FI (Linus Benedict Torvalds)
Newsgroups: comp.os.minix
Subject: What would you like to see most in minix?
Summary: small poll for my new operating system
Message-ID: <1991Aug25.205708.9541@klaava.Helsinki.FI>
Date: 25 Aug 91 20:57:08 GMT
Organization: University of Helsinki
Hello everybody out there using minix -
I'm doing a (free) operating system (just a hobby, won't be big and
professional like gnu) for 386(486) AT clones.

Sixteen years later his little “Linux” project is rather big and professional! And his software has made it into MILLIONS of devices for the Top Supercomputers in the world to Mobile Phones! (And in virtually every set top box on millions of TV’s)

It is amazing how a little idea can grow and grow and grow like that!

PS Thank Linux and all the GNU crowd!

Author: kevincolyer

I was born somewhere in England. Kevin and Nicki were joined in wedded bliss in September 1994. I have four wonderful Children. I am a currently training to become a vicar who can start churches among people who are not really churchy. I desire to start lots of these culturally relevant churches all over. I am a strong supporter of Free/Libre Open Source Software. I have been known to enjoy high quality Belgian beer. I occasionally listen to Coldplay. I like trying to speak Dutch. I like to think I can speak French. I lived in Belgium for 10 wonderful years and still miss it.

Leave a Reply

