Kevin Colyer's thoughts and ponderings

Semi-random rambles

Blog This!

Leave a comment

The last few weeks have been quiet here in Brussels  as it is holiday time. However, I have been having a lot of fun interacting with YWAMers all over the globe! From Australia to England and who knows where!

RSS symbol

What I have been doing is getting a website up and running http://www.planetywam.net. What this site does is grab news from other websites that publish a site summary using a technology called “Rich Site Summary” or “Really Simple Syndication” or RSS for short. Basically wherever you see the symbol on the right lurking you can get a link to  a “feed”, this link can then be used in a program called a Reader to pull the latest news from the website.

The upshot is that if you put lots of these “feed” links from your favourite websites in one place then you will get all the latest news from one place and save yourself loads of time clicking on a long list of bookmarks.

What I have done with PlanetYWAM is set up an Open Source program and given it a list of links. The program runs once an hour and grabs the latest news and then creates one single page of news from the various sources.

The most fun part has been to interact with  YWAMers all over and find a lot more news about the wide world of YWAM than I ever knew before! Plus it is hardly taxing to cut and paste links into the configuration files to keep it up to date!

One of my passions is to connect YWAMers together from all over and it is good to be able to achieve a little success through this project… and I will write soon about my thoughts on creating effective communities.

Author: kevincolyer

I was born somewhere in England. Kevin and Nicki were joined in wedded bliss in September 1994. I have four wonderful Children. I am a currently training to become a vicar who can start churches among people who are not really churchy. I desire to start lots of these culturally relevant churches all over. I am a strong supporter of Free/Libre Open Source Software. I have been known to enjoy high quality Belgian beer. I occasionally listen to Coldplay. I like trying to speak Dutch. I like to think I can speak French. I lived in Belgium for 10 wonderful years and still miss it.

Leave a Reply

