Kevin Colyer's thoughts and ponderings

Semi-random rambles

20 years ago…

1 Comment

Today was my first day back at work after my long and greatly appreciated furlough. The first thing I did was spend time reading and praying – it is too easy to get overwhelmed with the mountain of Good Things To Do, and that is what is felt like before the furlough time!

Anyway I realised that is is pretty much twenty years plus a few days since I started on my journey as a Christian. I was sixteen when I decided to live this way and I haven’t looked back since. I am glad that the decision I made then, in the period of 5 days, has been so long lasting.

When I think of the tremendous way that God has helped me with my low self-image, blessing me with a wonderful wife and two marvellous kids and enabling me to stay married for 12 years (Note to self – Anniversary this Sunday!), helping me to work for YWAM for so long and support myself and family with no serious debts, addictions or other mess ups. I think I have a lot to be grateful for. However these are not the reasons I have stayed a Christian as there have been tremendously challenging at times. I’m not a Christian for the good times only.

Yet, I am VERY grateful. This is twenty years I do not regret.

Author: kevincolyer

I was born somewhere in England. Kevin and Nicki were joined in wedded bliss in September 1994. I have four wonderful Children. I am a currently training to become a vicar who can start churches among people who are not really churchy. I desire to start lots of these culturally relevant churches all over. I am a strong supporter of Free/Libre Open Source Software. I have been known to enjoy high quality Belgian beer. I occasionally listen to Coldplay. I like trying to speak Dutch. I like to think I can speak French. I lived in Belgium for 10 wonderful years and still miss it.

One thought on “20 years ago…

  1. Hi Kev. Just found your blog. There is not much there but I like it. I will check back from time to time and who knows I may even comment again. I must join you for a beer sometime. Your computing blog just confused me as I am a big Microsoft fan, well it works for me! Your latest one encouraged me so thanks for that. Your old ywam friend, Mark

Leave a Reply

